Corn on the cob

While I was baking white chocolate chip macadamia nut cookies (to be eaten before Friday) and boiling potatoes and onions, mashing them with sour cream and cheese… and boiling some green beans for the side… I was listening to this (Frederica Mathewes-Green).  It’s pretting interesting.

I finished all the problems on the Statistics test today, and I think I even got some of them right.  Hopefully it’ll bring my grade up.  I find out tomorrow morning what I got… hopefully.  *edit* I passed. 😀  But tomorrow is another make up test, to replace another bad grade on a previous test.  *end edit*

I went to my grandparents house this afternoon to feed their cats and take care of their mail.  While I was out there, I thought I might as well see my mom’s parents too.  We had BLT’s, corn on the cob and cantaloupe… everything except the BL’s was from their garden.  I got to take home a couple cucumbers, ears of corn, the green beans that I had for dinner, and some tomatoes.  yummm…. next week I’m going to go help them harvest another session of corn.  Did I mention I love corn on the cob?

 

By the way, the balcony pot garden idea does not work, if I haven’t mentioned that before.  Don’t try it.  Other good news, it rained a lot today, so I don’t have to water my remaining plants.  I’m going to try and start more shoots of the jade plant from their leaves, also another leaf from a flowering plant that looks a lot like jade, I can’t remember what it’s called now.  But it was soooo pretty.  The leaves had purple on the outside edge, and the flowers were purple.  I hope it works.

2 thoughts on “Corn on the cob

  1. That is a great link to one of Mama Fred’s talks! I am glad I was able to listen to such wisdom.

    May God bless you, thanks for the prayer on my blog (I needed to read that!), and Lord have mercy during the Dormition Fast.

    *hugs*

  2. hello, lori! I was reading up on container gardening to help a friend whose living in a flat in london, and has no other option than to “container garden”. her tomato plants were thriving well, even fruiting, then almost with no reason, just died. from what I’m reading she, and probably you too, just needed much larger, deeper pots. another friend of mine won’t dig around her old home because of the high amounts of lead in their soil, so she’s had to revert to gardening in containers as well. this year she planted in new, proper-sized pots and has had tomatoes almost continuously. also, you planted cantaloupe in a window box, with other things in there as well, right? we planted cantaloupe also, but had to plant each plant 4 ft from one another. maybe yours just had no growing room, both on the surface and for the root system? I wouldn’t give up, though! you definitely had the right amount of dedication and love. gardening is all about patience and learning, and accepting the things we can’t always control. I had to tell myself that when a rabbit ate one of our watermelon plants and a storm tore a heavy-with-fruit branch of the pear tree.

    did I tell you we’re taking a master gardening course through k-state’s extension program? it’ll start this fall and take us through to next year’s planting season. I’m really looking forward to it, since we have no idea what we were doing this year – it’s all been dumb luck, research, and praying over baby seeds – or maybe it’s just been the Lord working his creation into existence.

    love you!

Leave a Reply

