Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

I’ve had this book read for at least a week now and I found it a little difficult to figure out something to write about it – hence my procrastination. I had some sort of viral sickness that went all around my family last week, so it was a bit difficult to concentrate on anything.

ImageI had never read this book before, and it is definitely a classic. It did capture my attention. I knew some of the story probably from sesame street or the muppets or some sort of children’s show, but it was very interesting to read the original. I had no idea how it ended, so it was all a pleasant surprise. I think it’s important for girls to read these books, as it’s probably a book that the average male would read, you know, having to do with adventure, pirates, and treasure. But there are many aspects of it that can appeal to women: camaraderie, loyalty, athleticism, strategic planning, etc. It is so important to be well read.

I went to the library and checked out a bunch of books, of which I read “Ooh La La!: French Woman’s Secrets to feeling beautiful every day” by Jamie Cat Callan. It was a really quick read. There are not necessarily any secrets inside, but the general gist of it is that it’s important to take care of yourself and be your true self.

I also read “How to be a Lady” by Candace Simpson-Giles. It was interesting, though sometimes really not helpful. Like some of the things in the book were like a lady knows how to use a napkin in a restaurant, with no explanation, so I guess if you don’t know it and you’re trying to become a lady, you’re screwed. There was a lot of stuff like that in the book.

Leave a Reply

