Hot Salsa Pinto Beans and Rice

 

ImageThis was a winner tonight! It is a dish from One-dish Vegan by Robin Robertson.

1 T olive oil

1 large yellow onion, chopped

1 rib celery, chopped (I used all the leafy tops and innards)

1 large green bell pepper, seeded and chopped (I omitted this)

2 large garlic cloves, minced

1 or 2 jalopeno chiles, seeded and minced (I only used 3/4 of one)

2 T tomato paste

1/2 t ground cmin

1/4 t dried oregano

1/2 t salt

1/4 t cayenne pepper

1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes, drained (I used half a quart jar of my home-canned tomatoes, and I just now realized that I missed the draining note, oops)

1 1/2 c vegetable broth

3 c cooked pinto beans or 2 (15.5 oz) cans pinto beans, rinsed and drained (I used half a bag of dried beans with water, put in the small slow-cooker for 4 hours on high)

3 c hot cooked brown rice

2 c shredded lettuce

1/2 c vegan sour cream

1/4 c sliced pitted black olives (I omitted this)

 

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion, celery, bell paper, garlic, and jalapeños and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Stir in tomato paste, cumin, oregano, salt, and cayenne, then add tomatoes and broth and bring to a simmer. Add the pinto beans and cook for 10 minutes to heat through and blend the flavors. Serve over the hot rice and to with the lettuce, sour cream, and olives. (You can also put it in a tortilla.)

This recipe was so fast to put together. Awesome. My husband loved it.

 

Leave a Reply

