Canning Black Beans

I ran out of cans of black beans last week so it was time for me to buy some and start canning. I bought three bags of black beans. I have yet to figure out where to buy them in bulk for a price that’s less than $1/pound.

Image1. The first step is to cook the beans. I put all three bags in a big pot and covered it with a lot of water. I brought the water to a boil for two minutes and then shut the heat off. I left the house to do some errands. You need to leave them to reconstitute for a couple hours or so. I drained them, rinsed and covered them with water again and boiled them for 30 minutes. Then it’s time for the real fun to begin.

2. You need to sanitize your canning jars and other tools. I do this by putting them all in my pressure canner with a bunch of water and let it boil for a while. I start the water to boil when I start the beans to boil for 30 minutes. It takes a while for the water to come up to a boil – even with the lid on.

Image3. The third step is to fill your jars. I take them out of the boiling water, set them on a towel and put one teaspoon of salt in the jar, then I fill it three-quarters of the way up with beans, and then cover the rest of it with liquid. I’ve tried putting more beans in, but it turns out that there’s not enough liquid covering the beans at the top when I’m done processing them. After I took the jar out of the boiling water, I put the lid and the ring into the boiling water to activate the “glue”. After I’m done filling the jar, I wipe off the rim, then put the lid and the ring on it, and hand tighten it. Then I put it back in the pressure cooker.Image I always use pints when I can black beans because it makes it so much easier to put in recipes. I process at 10 pounds pressure for an hour and fifteen minutes.

ImageI had a bunch of beans left over that wouldn’t fit in the cans. Maybe I’ll only do two bags next time.

One thought on “Canning Black Beans

Leave a Reply

