Spaghetti with Mushrooms and Zucchini

I made spaghetti tonight. It’s kind of impressive that I don’t think I’ve made any spaghetti until now in the Great Fast. I think I’ve been doing pretty good with variety of foods.

I used whole wheat spaghetti noodles, and I made my own sauce. I had some that I had canned from last years tomatoes, and some canned tomatoes in water. I used some of my homemade spaghetti sauce and drained some of the tomatoes. First I sauteed some mushrooms, added some salt and garlic. I added the drained tomatoes to get them to break down faster. It got boiling pretty fast. I added some dried oregano and basil. I added some spaghetti sauce in hopes of making it thicker, then I remembered I had some tomato paste in the refrigerator, so I used some of that. I added some chopped fresh parsley and about a tablespoon of nutritional yeast. I think it turned out really well for having had no specific recipe I was working from.

The zucchini rounds, I wanted to be more like chips, but it didn’t turn out that way. I had the oven at 450* F. I used a mandolin to slice them evenly the smallest thickness available. I used some cooking spray on the cookie sheet and laid out the slices, sprinkled them with salt (and at this point I would usually grate some parmesan cheese over the top, but not during the Fast), sprayed them with cooking spray on the top and stuck them in the oven. I had two sheets, I wasn’t being very attentive and the bottom one burned. Oops.

20140407-194135.jpg 20140407-194157.jpg

 

In addition to this we had a salad and cantaloupe. You know we have to get our fruits and more veggies! 😀

Leave a Reply

