Beginning of a Garden

I started some seeds today using some of Jiffy’s Organic Seed Starting Mix. I had been saving my egg cartons for someday when we have chickens and live on a farm. But I realized recently that that probably won’t happen for another 20-30 years, so hey, I’ll use them for seed starting.

After starting I realized that I should have used warm water to moisten the soil, so I switched to that in the middle. I don’t have a heating mat, so I’m guessing that that will help it along a little bit. I started strawberries, beefsteak tomatoes, roma tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, and pink brandywine tomatoes, lavender, chives, lettuce, nasturtiums, petunias, and marigolds. It is a little early to be planting the flowers, but they are old seeds and I don’t know if they’ll come up. Hopefully the flowers will help with the nasty bug population by attracting good predator bugs.

While I was planting, one of my daughters knocked over the cup of water that I was using to moisten the soil. It got all over the rest of the seed packets. I set them all out to dry, hopefully it’s not screwed up.

One thought on “Beginning of a Garden

  1. Pingback: Beginning of a Garden | Connect the Knots | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

